Girl Talk

(Warning: Girl rant. Boys may feel free to skip)

What is it about boys and computer games? What is there in WoW, CS, AoE, FIFA etc etc to drive a perfectly sane human being nuts ? I have often wondered as to what exactly is addictive about all this. Having heard these acronyms repeatedly, I wanted to see for myself. And I tell you, it was not at all pleasant.

I have tried to play Counter Strike. Okay fairly decent amount of skill and multi-tasking is needed. But it evades me as to how anyone can play it for more than 3 rounds :P. (I lasted for one…my temples began to throb!). With people in college who can play it for days on end, so much tactical discussion, strategies and repeated spamming for servers in college, I wonder what is so addictive ?
Today morning, after the third consecutive day when no one turned up in the tennis court, I went to one of my friends place.He was at his comp, playing WoW on some international sever. In college ok, ghar par bhi? No wonder, none of the guys now come to play tennis anymore. For that matter come to the swimming pool or badminton courts or even TT ( you can forget finding them at parties!). Its just these dratted computer games. Oh God! . So much bloodshed, sound of gunshots, hideous looking creatures (read AoE,WoW, AoC etc etc) . Ewww! Games should be like Jbird,Mario, Pcman, Dave or even prince. ( I suck at all but still it was not as taxing as these new ones are!).

Secondly, I wonder what it is about girls and change. Metamorphosis of the highest order has occured in my group of friends. From being chatty, bubbly girls who loved to cycle, challenge the guys over a game of gully-cricket or even climb on trees to eat guavas, my friends are now committed, tremendously made up, extremely figure conscious and talk nothing but about boys, perhaps the latest eating fad ( some new trans-fat containing food item to be obliterated from their diet) or some new dress. Perhaps its the way I am ( unusual for a girl ) I cant take this type of chat. Why cant we discuss some new music (duh, they listen to only hindi film music!) or some new event in chennai ( I can discuss shopping πŸ˜› ) or even some interesting stuff which happens in college. I start a new topic “Hey have u heard this song..” and then ” Oh yea..my boyfriend loves it..” and boom! back to boyfriends.

I have so many friends here. But still I feel im all alone. Lost in the world of boyfriends,endless discussions about lipsticks, foundations, eye-liners, crash diets, trans-fat, some new hindi song or perhaps a little college rant. Blah. I feel so alone.. like a goalpost after a football match , in parties (given im a big time party animal. I looove parties) that I have stopped going.

Thank you God for the awesome broadband connection! (touch wood for that). I am always in touch with the people who i enjoy being with. Thank you gtalk, thank you orkut and thank you blogspot. Thank you Sudha Murty for writing so many good books, thank you whisky for being with me and loving me so endlessly, thank you mom and dad for giving me my beautiful computer. (aah i must stop else I will be thanking Kellog for breakfast cereal also!)
πŸ˜€

10 thoughts on “Girl Talk

  1. lol.. i guess thats the way its meant to be.. dont worry u ll find lotsa girls who hv btr stuf to talk abt, just like there would be guys who are not gun-totting comp zombies… πŸ™‚

  2. ah finally a let out of ur frustration eh? neway, nice 1.. btw u better not hav included me tht list of girls! hehe..and hey am sure there r quite a few exceptions, jus harder 2 find when theres amazin lan in college! πŸ™‚

  3. HOW is your friend playing WoW on an international server ?? cant be, i tell you , it isint allowed … the games not released in India, n no one from india can play in any abroad server. Mebbe their own pirated private server, ( that too not the original server.. the game reconstructed by reverse engineering)
    but definitely not an abroad server. Trust me, iv researched πŸ˜›

    n yea , i agree 100 % wid punky πŸ™‚
    gun totting ( or sword totting , whichever applicable ) zombies we are πŸ˜€

  4. @punky: I really hope so. πŸ˜€
    @vidya: ob not. You are the people-who-saved-me-thanks-to-orkut-gtalk-blogspot variety! πŸ˜€
    @Oink: O.o Omg!
    @prachi: Very true! πŸ˜€ We have better stuff to do πŸ˜‰

  5. πŸ˜€
    totally agree with you.. i tried quake about 2 years ago and i gave up… infact i cant go on playin mario for more than 30 mins

  6. I suppose u’d love to study thermodynamics all the time thinking of kicchu when theres NFS Most Wanted available!!! sheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeesh

  7. Cs and DoTa are bread and butter to the college going bloke. Play it once with bout 3 people in the same room and i can bet my hind that this post will become obsolete atleast in part πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

