The most amazing birthday celebrations and send off!

I turned 21 on december 12th this year. Wow! Twenty ONE! Can’t believe I am finally here. It used to feel so bigg and twenties was like a far off thing. Not anymore. And the birthday was equally special..in many ways. Many many ways.
My day began in Vaishnavi’s room at 12 am when Nisha brought the cake and Bk, Vaish, MS and Nisha sang for me. The cake was Dutch chocolate and was exceptionally good..so thankfully no smearing on the face or wastage of it happened. We ate the cake (mostly I ate) and happily chatted about nothing at all. The next day was my last exam..ours rather (Vaish’s and mine) in BITS. Our books were open and so was DC. We were all peeping into the latest episode of ‘Gary Unmarried’ on Bk’s comp. I slept in Vaish’s room only.
Morning was not-so-happy, starting with a fight with my sister and later with my mom. I guess a day should not be too perfect also and a birthday should always have a mixture of every emotion possible. I sat all grumpy in the morning in the library, trying to make sense for the final time out of books and notes spread out in front of me. Lunch was magggi with chocolate milk, followed by some walking and sorry calls from home.

By evening, my mood was perfectly okay and I recieved perhaps the best birthday gift of all. A huge parcel from Bloke with some of my dearest things in it. A card and a beautiful bracelet from Prachi was also there. It was all splendid. My dinner was from Preethi’s. A first in my BITSian life! (Preethi’s is a ramshackle dhaba located somewhere nearby, which makes its moolah out of the large number of BITSians unhappy with mess food. They take orders over the phone and deliver it at 10pm near the gate! You have to see the queue to believe it!)

Though exams occupied me till 5 pm the next day, Bloke and I went out to Coconut Creek afterwards, where we talked about a lot of things. A lot was needed to be spoken about and after all the fighting, we finally made peace. It was fun and the awesome night ended with a nice walk along the beach.

The next morning went in packing and shoving. It is difficult to pack and move your establishment of over 3.5 years. Things just crop up out of nowhere. You suddenly have so many things left, lots of others you throw and you promise yourself (unsuccessfully) never to accumulate so much stuff or rather indulge in impluse buying. First year library cards surfaces, lost earrings were found, crushed old clothes emerged and I huffed and puffed my way through all the final bits of packing left. Vaish and I signed out of BITS finally. As I put my name down on that long yellow list of ps students, I felt a mix of ecstasy and sadness. The journey had finally ended!
We hired a Tata Sumo to take us to a room in Vasco which we hired and stuffed our luggage in it. The 8 of us, Vaish, BK, Vidya, Gowcow, Anil, Nikhil, Bloke and I left for Nine bar…to have the time of our lives!

Nine Bar is a hippie haven. With neon lights and hordes of drunk hippies and loud trance music playing in the middle of an open space, this place takes some alcohol to get used to. The waves were crashing in the background and the DJ churned out track after track of Psycadelic music and everyone was swaying to the beats, high on music and perhaps on lots of other things as well. I personally did not like the place much. Maybe because I wasnt drunk or smoking, and secondly I found the music too loud and repetitive. I danced for a while with the others and left the place to stand in the parking lot where it was much more soothing and relaxing. Bloke and I kept chatting about a lot of things and we watched weird people wearing funny clothes and accessories, pulling out bikes and heading towards other clubs. I waited for the others to come out.

Our next stop was Titos, a super famous nightclub located in Anjuna. There was heavy policing and we had to walk a while to reach the club. Slowly and steadily, our group made it through. I walked a while along the brightly lit streets of Anjuna full of foreigners all dressed for a good party. There are numerous shacks there and we ate french toast and sat in CCD for a bit. Around 11 we made our way to another nightclub, Ivy which was emptier and looked way more snazzy. We got free entry and sat on the leather couches and others sat near the bar. We ate Pizza at Dominoes around 12 and kept hovering near the club. We had awesome fun. It was just the 8 of us there which made it seem like a private party. We danced like crazy totally enjoying ourselves till around 4 am! Then we made our way back to Vasco.

After a breakfast of hot chocolate and aloo paranthas,( and some seriously useless coffee), we bid goodbyes to each other as we all departed for home. It was a heady mix of feelings, sad to leave each other, happy to move on, a feeling of deep bonding and the uncertainity of reunion. But it was the best night and best party each of us ever had!
What a fitting good-bye!!
YOYOYO GOA!!! AUDIEU!!!

3 thoughts on “The most amazing birthday celebrations and send off!

  1. hmm moving always is made up of mixed emotions….and leaving ur college has more of moments that u will miss and all the fun are memories now!! I still hv 6 more months to go!! so happy about it…..and the best thing in moving is that u find lots of stuff that u lost and lots of stuff u don even remember buying……u will be like “where did this stuff come from?? all this time such a cool stuff was there in my room and i havnt noticed it?? ” …… it happens and those are really good moments….anywayz all the best for ur future!! nice post da!!

  2. First things first…belated b’day wishes….change is something one has to get used to..that said, college is one of the best places aneone could be in; i know cos, everytime I come back to this place after a vacation, i got a big shit-eating smile on me…no matter wat.

    College will miss FoL and everything she represented, but, hey lookin at the bright side, now new FoLs will get their chances.

    Have fun at Thermax.

Leave a Reply

