Jai Bhim!

Having grown up outside Maharashtra, I never bothered to look beyond the Tamil new year and goodies to eat on this holiday of 14th April. Tamil New Year, Bengali and Assamese New Year, Baisakhi etc are commonly celebrated. But Ambedkar Jayanthi was nothing more than two words written on a calender under the date marked in red. That was until today.

The creepy, industrial district of Pimpri-Chinchwad came alive. Usually the first to empty out after the industries give over and then echoing with the whirring of the huge trailors and trucks taking out consignments to different locations, things were unrecognizable today. As I walked back from the city, filled to the brim with Mocha’s Chocolate Avalanche (being my friend’s brithday) my eyes widened in wonder. There were multiple processions, colourful and bright with blaring music and people dressed as if a carnival was on. It was in fact. Women, children, men and entire families dressed in their finery, dancing, singing, celebrating. As we walked back, processions after processions followed and it was truly entertaining.

Ambedkar’s photographs were in collage with Shivaji, Gautam Buddha and a host of other deities/ leaders. Entire statues of his carved in plastic, fresh huge garlands of flowers draped around them, little replicas of his stupa in Nagpur were distributed all over the place. Traffic jams ensued for kilometers on one of the busiest highways in the country. Professional DJ’s were called and dard-e-disco and I am a disco dancer blared from powerful loudspeakers, disco lights were set up in the middle of the streets and the most unruly sect of our country was dancing. It got scary after a while to see hooligans jumping up and down on the road.

A little anger started creeping up inside me. He is the sole reason for this reservation crap in our country. I’m not even starting on that topic since I lose my cool every single time I think about it. It was perhaps needed then but in today’s times, reformation of those laws are what is most needed. But then, I decided to empathize. Maybe, if there was this individual because of whom me and my three further generations can blissfully enjoy special rights in all the right places, I might as well join that gala procession.

In the midst of this, my Tamil New Year lay forgotten. A lot of unexpected things to come this year and all I can hope for is that it all works out well.

I still can’t get over the sight of Ambedkar’s photograph morphed with that of Shivaji and people dancing dard-e-disco under it with disco lights on the highway with a near 4 kilometer long traffic jam behind them.

I love my country. It surprises me no end!

12 thoughts on “Jai Bhim!

  1. India is full of surprises! 🙂 What surprises me more is your biased view of history.

    You said: “He is the sole reason for this reservation crap in our country”.

    I hope someday you will find time to study more about Ambedkar and the reservation issue. I am sure your opinions shall change (same for Gandhi and partition 🙂 ).

  2. India is full of surprises! 🙂 What surprises me more is your biased view of history.

    You said: “He is the sole reason for this reservation crap in our country”.

    I hope someday you will find time to study more about Ambedkar and the reservation issue. I am sure your opinions shall change (same for Gandhi and partition 🙂 ).

  3. Have been a silent visitor on your blog. But I couldnt stop commenting on this one!!

    I completely agree with you on most of your observations. I too am angry. Its right time to vent all the frustration out.

    How to vent it all out?

    Just go out there and vote them out!! Please!!
    Doesnt matter which party but just vote. As you keep voting you ll know whom to vote for and whom not to.

    No your vote wont solve all the problems in five years. Atleast there would be a start!!

  4. Have been a silent visitor on your blog. But I couldnt stop commenting on this one!!

    I completely agree with you on most of your observations. I too am angry. Its right time to vent all the frustration out.

    How to vent it all out?

    Just go out there and vote them out!! Please!!
    Doesnt matter which party but just vote. As you keep voting you ll know whom to vote for and whom not to.

    No your vote wont solve all the problems in five years. Atleast there would be a start!!

  5. Pretty weird…specially the photo-morphing thingy….. I’ve lived in Pune for around 14 years, never saw anything like this though 😛

  6. Pretty weird…specially the photo-morphing thingy….. I’ve lived in Pune for around 14 years, never saw anything like this though 😛

  7. Although I do NOT support reservations in all forms (except for my train tickets!), I do tend to disagree with you on Ambedkar being the “sole” reason. He wasn’t the only ‘myopic visionary’ in the pack… 😉

  8. Although I do NOT support reservations in all forms (except for my train tickets!), I do tend to disagree with you on Ambedkar being the “sole” reason. He wasn’t the only ‘myopic visionary’ in the pack… 😉

  9. @Amrit: I hope so too!
    @CodeNameV: Thanks for the inspiration man!
    @Mandark: hehe..prolly you havent been to this side of Pune on such a day!
    @ Purnoor: Yeah, not the only one. I agree with you on that. But instrumental he definitely was!

  10. @Amrit: I hope so too!
    @CodeNameV: Thanks for the inspiration man!
    @Mandark: hehe..prolly you havent been to this side of Pune on such a day!
    @ Purnoor: Yeah, not the only one. I agree with you on that. But instrumental he definitely was!

Leave a Reply

