Why the fuss, Valentine?

So another V-day looms. I can see pink splashed across websites, roses on sale and cards and soft-toys lining the shelves of stores where plant fertilizers were once found. (I actually went in search for the latter to keep my new Bonsai trees healthy. Did i tell you about my new obsession? Ah well, that’ll make another post maybe). So coming back, yeah V-day looms and this time my excitement is rock-bottom. Seriously, I miss the Shiv-sena a lot. Atleast they used to add some spice to this very mundane and boring festival.

One thing I never understood was why a day to celebrate love? Maybe it is for too busy people to pause a moment and realize what they dont have. Isn’t love a feeling you have all the time? What makes the probability of a girl accepting a proposal higher this day? Because you have happily made everyone realize how sad their lives are because they dont have a special someone? Seriously, I don’t get it. I believe that love is a continuous celebration. If you are truly in love, it should be everyday that you realize how blessed you are. In short, everyday should be a valentine’s day. I know for a fact, people in love or a serious relationship do not wait for V-day to declare their love. Its more of a teenage phenomenon where schools buzz with activity and exceptionally high hormonal levels and everyone is waiting for their first kiss, blah blah. But for me, I think it ended there. As I realized more and more about what a true relationship is all about, (something that comes with age I guess), I realized that I don’t need a special time and hour to declare love or feelings. Marketing gimmick it surely is. Something like how Thanksgiving morphed into Black Fridays and now everyone is celebrating it (for some reason or another).

But this absolute despise of this V-day does not mean I am not romantic. I have a mushy side too (many of you already have read about it πŸ˜‰ ). I love sweet honest, self-made declarations of love (not hallmark cards), innovative gifts (like a 9 year old boxwood bonsai meant to last a 1000 years) and not teddy bears, beautiful verses from Pablo Neruda’s Twenty Poems and a Song of Despair, coming home to find ‘Inside of a Dog’ by Alexandra Horowitz lying on my bed one evening or a hot meal of sambhar-rice fed when i am unwell. For all this, do I need a special day? Media is capable of converting perfectly sane and in-love folks ask ‘So whats special for V-day?’. My answer will always be ‘nothing’. Because it is not special to me. A birthday is, an anniversary surely is. But a 14th Feb is neither (and sadly not a holiday also, so definitely no celebrating :P)

I miss all the gossip and excitement that used to surround 14th feb in school as we used to watch girls get proposed by boys they didnt expect it from, or boys shy away when a girl did that (rare, but amazingly entertaining). Or watch the foolish Shiv-sena drive away couples from Marine drive on 14th feb and never bother them for the other 364 days or break glasses of shops and tear V-day cards on 14th February.(Trick: buy them earlier). From all that, it is reduced to a dreary Monday with lots of work piled up and classes to attend.

So its a no-fuss day for me tomorrow. But for ya’all, who will celebrate tomorrow, Happy Valentine’s Day!

8 thoughts on “Why the fuss, Valentine?

  1. I feel exactly the same way. Never really understood the importance of 14th Feb! If you love someone, you don’t need 14th Feb to tell them that. It is the little things (or maybe big) that happen throughout the year that make you feel in love. Marketing hype!

    BTW new obsession gardening or something??

    1. Nah, its Bonsai. I already have 4 indoor plants but I read about bonsai and am super obsessed with it right now. πŸ˜€

  2. If one were to celebrate louve with candies, flowers and soft toys, I highly recommend they stick to one day of the year to do so πŸ˜›

  3. I totally agree… You don,t really need a special day to tell someone you love and treat them like crap all the other days. It used to be fun to gossip and all in school ;), but I never celebrated V-day as such.

Leave a Reply

