Surreal

Reams of articles on our world cup performance are already out there and read and re-read by most of us (non-regulars included) now. I won’t write another one but I have to admit it was surreal. Sometimes,actually most of the times, I cannot still believe it. I cannot believe Sachin and Team India got its World Cup at last! The match, the entire morning, the afternoon was so crazy. I missed being back home to hear the crackers, watch people party all night and preserve the cut outs of the front page of newspapers for years to come. Brilliant performance by every member in the squad. I was critical of Dhoni all through the tournament and as he himself put it, he was fortunate it all worked in his favour. Else, the questionable inclusion of some players in the team and his dwindling performance with the bat would have lashed at him furiously post-world cup.
This world cup is special because it has so many players that I remember since childhood. I do not figure in the cricket followers list anymore ( following a single tournament is not counted) and so am blissfully unaware of the team members when they play smaller-scale tourneys. But this might be the last time we saw so many greats play. Sachin’s retirement (if at all) is not a part of this post but the more he plays, the more I’ll watch. And don’t ask me about IPL now. I will watch the semi-final onwards and of course may Chennai Super Kings reign supreme! 😀
This past week marked Whisky’s birthday. It was aptly celebrated with cake, flowers and of course lots of love and pampering. Whisky is not just a pet, but an integral and most-loved member of our family. As my dad put it, he is the fountainhead of happiness, the one person who has just given us reason to smile and removed all our tensions. He remains the one person I grew up with (considering we were mostly together and in the same age bracket). He is my favorite and I am his. I just miss being around him to wish him a happy birthday. He doesnt understand, but he loves the chance to eat cake from the dining table and all the photography and clapping/cheering. Love you whisky. May you have a very very happy, healthy and cheerful year ahead.
Nothing else really. I enjoyed reading everything on reader and all the news sites the past week. For once, our nation united as never before and the tide of happiness made us forget all our past miseries. On that note, let me sign off here, leaving the usual complaints for another post. But yes, Anna Hazare – hats off to you. If you can create another major wave of all our people combined, nothing can really stop us. The Men in Blue showed us that past week. Let us channel that spirit constructively and remove the scar of corruption from our nation altogether.

Leave a Reply

